Getting arrested for a crime can be a confusing and scary experience.
For people who do not have charges on their record, it can be difficult to know where to go or who to talk to about the charges.
If you have a Class 3 misdemeanor charge in Colorado, what does that mean? What are your options?
At Miller Leonard, P.C. in Golden, CO, our experienced criminal defense attorney provides zealous representation to our clients accused of Class 3 misdemeanor offenses and is here to explain what you can expect if arrested and charged with this type of crime.
Colorado Class 3 Misdemeanors
Colorado law divides their misdemeanor offenses, or lesser offenses, into three categories: Class 1, Class 2, and Class 3 misdemeanors.
Class 3 misdemeanors are the least serious category of criminal offense and encompass a number of different crimes, including but not limited to, the following offenses:
- Fireworks offenses
- Reckless endangerment
- Criminal trespass
- Abandonment of a motor vehicle
- Rigging publicly exhibited contests
- Issuing a bad check
- Soliciting a prostitute
- False reporting to authorities
- Impersonating a public servant
- Disorderly conduct
- Fourth degree arson, and more.
One interesting note about Class 3 misdemeanor offenses is that a person accused of committing this type of offense has the right to a jury of six people instead of the larger twelve.
If convicted, some but not all of these crimes are eventually eligible for sealing or expungement. Talk with an experienced criminal defense attorney to learn more about Colorado misdemeanor offenses.
Penalties for Class 3 Misdemeanors
The consequences for a Class 3 misdemeanor offense include a minimum of $50 in fines and a maximum punishment of up to $750 in fines and/or six months in county jail.
There are some exceptions to this rule; for example, if a mental health professional gets a charge of reckless endangerment during the course of their duties the penalties can be six to twelve months in jail and a fine between $50 and $750.
Additionally, conviction for this type of crime can come with other consequences.
If this is your first time getting arrested and charged, a conviction means a criminal record. This will show up on every background check for a job, employment, housing, professional licenses, and more.
In addition, your personal and professional reputation can be permanently altered depending on the type of Class 3 offense you have on your record.
Finally, some Class 3 misdemeanors do classify as deportable offenses or crimes of moral turpitude. As such, aliens to this country who have these offenses run the risk of deportation to their home country.
Call or Contact Our Office Today
If you have a Class 3 misdemeanor offense in the Golden area, you need a skilled criminal defense attorney by your side. Call or contact Miller Leonard, P.C. today to schedule an appointment with our experienced criminal defense attorneys about your case.