A DUI Conviction Costs an Average of $13,500 in Colorado—Protect Your Wallet: Do Not Give Up Your Case Without First Speaking to a Defense Lawyer.
How much does a DUI cost in Colorado? If you are facing DUI charges in Colorado, you may be wondering what costs you should expect to pay in relation to the charges and in the event you are convicted. When it comes to crimes associated with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Colorado, it is important to understand that there are a wide variety of costs associated with an arrest and a conviction.
Not only can you be required to pay initial costs like court fees and towing fees, but you can also face substantial penalties upon conviction, from monetary fines to other types of costs.
Since each case is different, it is impossible to provide a specific amount for your case without examining the facts. If you are facing charges for a Colorado DUI, you should get in touch with a Colorado DUI defense attorney as soon as possible.
Our top-rated Denver DUI defense lawyer will review the charges against you, explain the likely costs, and help you explore options for legal defense. Call us now for a free consultation.
Court Fees and Early Costs for a Colorado DUI
DUIs are taken extremely seriously under Colorado law, and DUI charges can be very costly. The initial fees can vary greatly depending upon a variety of different factors, including whether there was a car accident associated with the DUI and whether anyone suffered injuries. Even if the DUI is not associated with a motor vehicle collision or any personal injuries, the initial court costs and related fees can be quite expensive.
The Colorado Department of Transportation provides information about costs linked to a DUI conviction. Some examples of those fees for a first DUI include but are not limited to the following:
- Detoxification: Anywhere from $303 to $455;
- Towing fee: $175;
- Car storage fees: Almost $50 per day;
- Court cost: $26;
- Alcohol or drug treatment: $1,000;
- Fine for a first DUI conviction: $600;
- Probation supervision fee: $900;
- Ignition interlock rental or service: $2,172;
- License reinstatement fee: $95;
- Restricted license fee: $26;
- Auto insurance increase: Average of $3,600 per driver over a five-year period;
- Victim Assistance Fund fee: $163;
- Victim Compensation Fund fee: $29; and
- Law Enforcement Assistance Fund: $90.
The Colorado Department of Transportation estimates that the average cost of a first DUI conviction has risen significantly in the last several years—by more than 30 percent.
In total, the average cost for a first DUI conviction is more than $13,500 per person, and that amount does not include costs associated with property damage or personal injury caused in a DUI car crash.
Expenses Beyond Court Fees, Fines, and Conviction Costs
When you are convicted of a DUI, there are additional financial costs that you may not be considering. For example:
- Lost wages: Under Colorado law, a first DUI conviction can include a sentence of 10 days to up to 1 year in jail. If you are required to do jail time as part of your sentence, you will likely lose those wages that you would have earned had you been working. Even if you are not sentenced to any jail time, the amount of time you spend at court hearings related to your case, appointments for reinstating your driver’s license, probation appointments, and alcohol courses can result in you missing time from work.
There are also costs beyond financial ones, such as:
- Loss of your driver’s license: You may lose your driver’s license, which may prevent you from engaging in certain activities and even from keeping your job if it requires driving.
- Criminal record: A DUI in Colorado can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony offense, depending upon whether you have prior convictions. A criminal conviction can result in your inability to obtain certain types of employment, as well as other repercussions.
What Can You Do to Limit the Costs of a Colorado DUI Charge?
As the numbers from the Colorado Department of Transportation demonstrate, a first-time DUI is extremely expensive. Pleading guilty or going to trial without the proper legal representation could easily cost you $13,000 or more.
The best way to limit the costs of a drunk driving charge is to avoid a conviction altogether. If you are convicted, you will bear most or all of these costs. Do not mindlessly plead guilty to a DUI or any other criminal offense. Schedule a consultation with an experienced Colorado DUI defense lawyer.
During your free consultation, our Colorado drunk driving defense attorney will listen to your story, review the charges and the evidence, and help you determine what action to take to protect your legal rights and financial interests. By hiring a DUI defense lawyer, you may be able to save thousands of dollars.
Contact a DUI Attorney in Colorado
At Miller Leonard, PC, our Colorado DUI defense lawyer has nearly two decades of experience handling intoxicated driving cases. To set up a free, strictly confidential consultation, please contact Miller Leonard, P.C today.
With an office in Golden, we handle DUI cases in Jefferson County and throughout the greater Denver Metropolitan Area.